The trip that almost didn’t happen

When my aunt offered to pay for me to come home for Spring Break I knew I was gonna come and I hoped to bring my friend with me. Last week though, my car started acting weird so I took it in and after 900 dollars, got it back. We were packed and ready to go on Friday.

I was driving to pick up Laura when the problems I had before with my car started up again.

I was devastated and angry. I took the car in again and demanded they fix it right this time…They had until break was over but now how would I get down south? I was certain that I wouldn’t get to go. Laura offered her car, saying it wouldn’t be as comfy since her car was tiny but it was reliable. Trip was back on!

So we finally left, at noon on Saturday.

We had 18 hours ahead of us and a wish that our friendship would last that long in a tiny car.

We drove through Kansas, Oklahoma, Texas and Louisiana before making it to Mississippi and we were both ready for bed when we pulled into my aunts driveway.

Laura was excited for one major thing. The ocean. She had never seen it and was ready to run when we got to the beach.

The week passed too quickly, but we had lots fun drinking and goofing around the coast.

On our last day we went to New Orleans and had a long busy (drunk) day before hitting the road. New Orleans is my favorite city on earth and we soaked in as much as we could before leaving.

we left Saturday and after another 18 hours we finally got home. With lots of memories and a stronger friendship in tow. At least I hope so.

3 thoughts on “The trip that almost didn’t happen

  1. My best friend and sister also got to see the ocean for the first time ever during this break! It’s so fun seeing someone experience that. I love Laura and I’m glad you two had fun!! It was super cold in California, so I’m glad you got some good weather in your end!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad your trip worked out and that you had such a blast! I love the pictures. The ocean is amazing, and I’m glad she got to experience it, everyone should. I’ve read a ton of books featuring New Orleans in some way or shape and I can honestly say it’s been on my bucket list since high school. I’m supposed to graduate next May and instead of my annual out of country trip I’m thinking of going on a USA road-trip. New Orleans is definitely on my list of places to visit along with the Grand Canyon.

    Like

Leave a comment